Balance Changes for the Magus


Here are some of the following changes for the Magus I will explain what I think about them and how I will put them to use if I use them.

* The Pink Horror’s “Daemonic Fire” ability will now also reduce the victim’s Elemental Resistance (similar to the Engineer’s Gun Turret reducing the victim’s Armor). – I usually always do have the pink horror out just for the small extra damage and for the Instability but now I will really have a bigger reason to keep it out and make sure you have it on Defensive that way it debuffs the target you have selected.

* Perils of the Warp has been redesigned. It will now damage the target and Disarm them, similar to the Engineer’s Crack Shot. – This will be a useful ability when focused mind is up other than that the cast time is pretty long and does not do enough damage.

* Aegis of Orange Fire will now trigger from any attack, not just melee attacks, with a 25% chance. Its damage is increased, and the effectiveness of its Wounds buff has been doubled. – Amazing for both Rift spec and speced for dueling It was already a pretty boost in hp but the damage buff was definitely needed.

* Indigo Fire of Change will no longer summon a daemon. Instead, if the victim dies while Indigo Fire of Change is affecting them, the Magus will regain Indigo Fire’s full Action Point cost over 6 seconds. – Best change yet in my opinion no more uncontrollable horrors to wipe your party instead you get all your AP back now how amazing is that.

* Strengthen Thrall’s effectiveness has been greatly increased. – This was not needed why use this when you can just reset your timer on your pet by re summoning it.
* In addition to its current effects, Chaotic Attunement will now also make Resummon no longer cost any Action Points. – Not really worth a Tactic slot in my opinion.

~ by keagen on June 30, 2010.

3 Responses to “Balance Changes for the Magus”

  1. “Best change yet in my opinion no more uncontrollable horrors to wipe your party instead you get all your AP back now how amazing is that.”

    Indeed, barely hit T4 and I think that little piece of Junk ran straight to the enemies guards numerous time getting me killed. That’s what I imagine kids to be like, plain evil.

  2. […] The Magus got a lot of changes as well, and I’m so woefully inadequate to explain them, I’ll just do a copypasta here. The little bit I can make sense of seems to be the closer mirroring to the Engineer, and the distinction that the Magus is not in the same boat of power as the BW/Sorc is. Beyond that, I know almost nothing about this career. You should all bug Keagan to write more, and explain them to us all. Oh wait, he did that! Read the expert. […]

  3. […] The Magus got a lot of changes as well, and I’m so woefully inadequate to explain them, I’ll just do a copypasta here. The little bit I can make sense of seems to be the closer mirroring to the Engineer, and the distinction that the Magus is not in the same boat of power as the BW/Sorc is. Beyond that, I know almost nothing about this career. You should all bug Keagan to write more, and explain them to us all. Oh wait, he did that! Read the expert. […]

Leave a Reply

 
