My New Default DPS Spec!


My Default RvR/PvE Spec:

Tactics:

Close Quarters: Your Cast times are reduced by 50% when you are within 20 ft from your target.

Reasoning: This tactic is good due to the fact when Melee classes get close your able to kill them in half the time. It really helps when you need to disarm a melee or tank hitting on you in .5 seconds instead of 1 second or using your ability Bolt of Change in 1.75 seconds instead of 3 seconds.

Endless Knowledge: Increases your Intelligence by 164.

Daemonic Withering: Withered Soul will now also cause the victim to suffer 15% more damage from all sources.

Reasoning: 15% more damage every 20 seconds this is a great tool for you and your party it’s one of the best tactics the Magus get.

Surging Power: Increases critical damage from Infernal Blast, Surging Violet Fire and Surge of Insanity by 50%.

Reasoning: Since Magus are pretty much critically hitting almost on every hit with good gear this is a great damage booster for those abilities.

My Mastery Abilities:

I will go 15 points up in the Havoc tree and 9 points in the Changing tree and I will get the following abilities

Perils of the Warp: You open a rift dealing 1006 Elemental damage and weakens the fabric of reality surrounding your target, disarming them for 3 seconds.

Reasoning: This ability is a great tool to use against Melee classes to make it so there unable to attack you for 3 seconds.

Bolt of Change: An un-defendable bolt of far traveling force that inflicts 1357 Elemental Damage.

Reasoning: An undefendable attack is great against any class it’s the hardest hitting spell we have capable of hitting around 4k when critically hit when having offensive Sov and glyph set.

Soul Leak Morale: Deals 2436 damage over 10 seconds and removes 50 Action Points every 2 seconds.

Reasoning: not really useful but good to have for when it’s up that way you can remove your targets AP.

Seed of Chaos: Grows a seed inside your target dealing 890 Spirit damage over 15 seconds. After this time expires or the target is kill, the seed will explode using the victims life force to deal 290 Spirit damage to all targets within 20 feet.

Reasoning: A great extra DoT to throw in there for a bit of extra damage.

Indigo Fire of Change: A horrible torrent of energy that deals 793 Spirit damage every 2 seconds for 6 seconds. Victims killed while bathed in this flame will return 120 Action Points over 6 seconds to you.

Reasoning: I use IFoC as the final ability on my rotation if they even last that long that way I regain a bit of AP for my final ability.

Renown Abilities: I go as many into Acumen as you can get for the extra Intelligence, I then put 3 points into Focused Power for the extra chance to Critically Hit. My Final ability I pick up is either Resolute Defense or Cleansing Wind depending on how many good melee or good ranged is on your server. Any extra points I just put into Fortitude or Vigor for the extra Hit Points or Toughness.

Strategy:

The first thing I do before anything is summon my pet and get up as much Unholy Empowerment as I can get before using my rotation. My rotation starts with Daemonic Fire which I have the addon Loyal Pet set to perform when I use my first DoT Baleful Transmogrification or Withered Soul I usually mix them up that way they don’t severe off my Withered Soul every time. Second in my rotation is Bolt of Change which will take about 3s to cast unless there in Close Quarters and then I will use Surging Violet Fire which hit’s in the same Global Second as Bolt of Change which makes an insane amount of damage around 5-6k damage with all the DoT Tics and abilities in that second after that I will use Indigo Fire of Change to finish them off if it’s even needed that way I regenerate a little bit of Action Points for my next rotation. If there tanks or just a high survivable player I will use most of my DoTs such as Seed of Chaos, Glean Magic and Infernal Blast if there close enough.

Tip One: if a Melee is one your targeting make sure to start off your cycle with your disarm Perils of the Warp

Tip Two: Make sure to hit Resolute defense if you see your going to get punt or pulled

Tip Three: Wait atleast 1-2 seconds if you can before using cleansing wind that way you can get off as many DoTs as possible

Tip Four: Make sure to stay as far back in the back lines as possible.

Tip Five: Always keep your Pink Horror up and close to you that way your able to use your debuffs and gain the damage buff.

Tip Six: Make sure to use Focused mind every time it’s up which should be around once a minute choose good players but non tanks when this Morale is up.

Tip Seven: Use your Morale Snare on Ranged and Melee Squishy Targets trying to run away.

Tip Eight Go out there and show Order what the true power of a magus can do in 2-3 seconds!

If you have any other questions or suggestions feel free to let me know!

~ by keagen on December 6, 2010.

4 Responses to “My New Default DPS Spec!”

  1. WOW, that is some impressive damage to be pushing as a “broken” class that everyone hates. Kudos for generating such numbers. One question, though? What RR rank do you need to get all of these abilities and what would your spec/rotation be at RR40 and just starting out?

  2. You would need to to be renown rank 70 to have all your mastery points. I would start out by getting Bolt of Change and Perils of the warp there probably the most important I would say I would perform a rotation of Withered Soul then Baleful Transmogrification
    and then if it’s a Melee Perils of the Warp then Bolt of Change and Surging Voilet Fire right after that’s whats going to give you the most burst damage you should be pretty successful at killing with that rotation.

    P.S make sure to use your elemental pet debuff on the targets it helps a great deal.

  3. Was extremely disappointed to see you afk freenowning in dw over the weekend in front of the warcamp. Yes I have screenshots and watched you and so did many other players. I assumed you had higher standards than that but I digress.

  4. Hey Concerned Player I don’t “freerenown” if you were to attack me you would of seen me attack you back I was sitting there crafting and watching a movie on my second screen and crafting with my other one and killing people that thought I was “freerenowning” lol..

Leave a Reply

 
